Newcomer Health

Last Tuesday of the month at 6:00 AM PT/7:00 AM MT/8:00 AM CT/9:00 AM ET. No session will take place in December 2022.

10/25/2022

This ECHO is designed to increase primary care providers' knowledge of health issues in newcomers, including refugee, immigrant and migrant (RIM) populations. It will review resettlement pathways, evidence-based screening recommendations, and more common diagnoses and treatment approaches for pediatric and adult populations.

Sessions include brief didactic presentations by immigrant health experts and discussion of participant-submitted cases. Participants are highly encouraged to submit de-identified patient cases for group discussion and expert consultation. 

Registration is ongoing and participants can attend any sessions they wish.

CME for this series has been applied for and is pending approval. ECHO participants typically earn one credit per session attended. In order to receive CME credit for this ECHO series, post-session surveys must be completed by the indicated deadline.

11/28/2023


  • Implement CDC screening guideline recommendations for newcomer populations
  • Diagnose and treat health issues in newcomer populations
  • Correlate how global health trends impact patients within local settings
  • Promote health equity for diverse newcomer communities


Session/Title Date
1 - Introduction to Refugee Resettlement 10/25/2022
2 - Afghan Health Considerations 11/29/2022
3 - Ukrainian Health Considerations 1/31/2023
4 - Vaccinations 2/28/2023
5 - Tuberculosis 3/28/2023
6 - Hepatitis B - Pediatrics 4/25/2023
7 - Hepatitis B - Adults 5/30/2023
8 - GI Infections - Soil Transmitted Helminth Infections 6/27/2023
9 - Lead and Anemia 7/25/2023
10 - Mental Health 8/29/2023
11 - Sexual and Reproductive Health 9/26/2023
12 - Pediatric Nutrition 10/31/2023
13 - Female Genital Cutting (FGC) 11/28/2023
Sign Up For This ECHO